Why I still love my X100 so much

Back to my blog once again! This time it will contain mainly photo-related stuff but of course I have lots of photos about my family, so I am a “family photographer”.

My cameras at the moment are Fuji’s. I have both X-Pro1 and X100. I have tried to learn to use X-Pro1 lately a lot and it really has a deeper learning curve that I initially thought of. I have always lots of hassling with the camera adjustments and I do not have a constant way to shoot with it at the moment. Every time I grab my X100 I feel like I am home.

I really love how solid feeling X100 has. Much better than X-Pro1 I think. Feels better in my hands. I think this is a bigger question than many people admit. How the camera feels.

Another big thing is the physical size. X100 is quite nicely pocketable or at least it needs a very small camera bag. If I go to a trek into the woods for example I usually take X100 with me because it is so handy to carry with you. I feel so even if X-Pro1 is small camera compared to those bulky dSLRs. I had earlier Canon 5D Mk II which was not very comfortable camera to carry around.

I love that Auto ISO feature is implemented in the right way in X100. This means that you can choose the minimum shutter speed in Auto ISO. I really can’t understand why Fuji didn’t implement this for X-Pro1 in the latest 2.0 firmware. Auto ISO works so nicely with X100 that I am using it all the time. I am usually using aperture priority when shooting and Auto ISO feature is so great when it is implemented in a right way. With X-Pro1 I have to use manual adjustments and many times I forgot to adjust shutter speed for example. Well, maybe I will learn more about photography that way but many time it is really irritating.

The fact that X100 has a fixed prime lens is so fantastic! This really frees my mind. I do not have to think about lenses. I have two lenses for my X-Pro1 at the moment. XF 35 mm and XF 60 mm ones. I really love both of those but I really hate to think which one would be the right one for each situation. And when to change lenses. Back and worth. X100′s lens is so sweet. And one thing more; I like the fact that it has full stop increments in its aperture adjustment ring. This may sound funny but I usually like to use F2.0, 2.8, 4.0 and so on. Much faster with X100 than with XF lenses.

Almost everybody in the web is saying that there was a huge improvement in focus speed in X-Pro1 and XF lenses after 2.0 firmware. Yes, there certainly is some improvement but I wouldn’t call it huge, not even a marked one. I really feel that my X100 is still much faster in focusing. And it nails focus much easier in tricky lighting conditions too. Sometimes I have been quite frustrated with X-Pro1 trying to get it to focus properly.

Now that I have decided to go back to shoot RAWs after quite extensive JPEG-only period I feel that I am quite unsure with LR 4.1 RAW conversion for X-Pro1 files. I admit that the new X-Trans sensor really delivers but it seems that we have to wait very long time to get a decent RAW converter for the files it produces. With X100 I do not have that problem. And it has a very nice APS-C sized sensor too.

This really sounds like a rant. I feel it is actually not a one. I will definitely keep my X-Pro1 and see how things will evolve. Of course I am going to learn to use X-Pro1 more properly too. I am sure that I will be very interested if Fuji will develop a successor for X100.

Shot with X100. The camera I love.

8 comments

  1. Jonne: I think this is a great post and many ideas you mention here are worth spending more time exploring.

    For me, the most important thing is you’ve not spent a lot of time defending the X-PRO 1. No doubt it’s a great camera and you’ve taken wonderful images with it, but you’re willing to say that there are things wrong with it where many would defend their purchase decision to the death (so to speak).

    The other thing you mention is your desire for simplicity. I know you know a lot about photography but good tools should fall into the background and become extensions of our eyes (and hands) and if the tool is require too much attention then maybe there’s a problem with the design.

    I’m leaning heavily toward getting a Ricoh GRD IV which is in some ways like the X100: prime (28mm) lens, simple and clean design, cult following. And, I’ve still not pulled the trigger on a new DSLR body… I may be done with them, not quite sure yet.

    Thanks for a great post, keep following your instincts, they’re good.

  2. Thanks a lot, Richard! I really appreciate your visions. That is exactly how I feel at the moment – I’ll need more simplicity. I am, however, shooting with X-Pro1 all the time because I feel that I am lacking skill to use it properly. GRD IV is very tempting camera to me too. I am not sure about its smaller sensor though. I think I am somehow spoiled with Fuji’s fantastic APS-C sensors.

    Maybe there will be other FF sensor pocketable cameras (with fixed prime lens) in addition to Sony RX1.

  3. Jonne,
    I completely agree with your comments. I’ve had the exact same experience with my Fuji’s, and I’m very confused when people say their X-pro’s focus ‘much’ faster then the X100. My experience is quite the opposite, so I’m glad I’m not the only one. I also find the user experience of the X100 to be much higher, and the camera just makes more sense. Strongly considering ebaying my X-Pro.
    And your photos are lovely too!
    Cheers!
    Paul Reitano (www.paulreitano.tumblr.com)

  4. don’t worry, i am facing the same situation as you too.
    loving my X100 more… hehe.
    by the way, did you get speck of dust in its viewfinder, sometimes it is annoying..

Leave a Reply

