Should I process more B&Ws?

Miracle of water, originally uploaded by Jonne Naarala.

I really like B&W photos. But I seldom process my shots into B&W versions. I think I am more a color person but sometimes B&W processing can give an extra punch to your shot. No distracting colors, only your subject. I think I will at least test B&W processing for my shots more from now on.

I use Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro for B&W conversions and I find that plug-in really nice. It has so many nice options to control the process (such as the Control Point feature) and very nice presets also. There will be version 2 of Silver Efex Pro soon, so check Nik’s web site to get more info.

6 comments

  1. I like this picture and yes, you should do more black and white work Jonne, you’re not only good at it, but doing a lot of something will make you better.

  2. Richard, thanks for visiting my humble blog. You are absolutely right about the learning thing. I think more B&Ws are on the way.

    Btw, I am still pondering the question Aperture vs. Lightroom as you may have noticed. I would very much like to use Apple products but I think it is now the speed what really counts. LR3 is still much faster than Aperture 3, not only processor-wise but as workflow-wise too. Of course I have used LR much more so there is quite much bias there. There are actually two major things against Aperture now. Namely noise reduction, and speed and ease of keywording. NR problem may be overcome with a NR plug-in but keyboarding problems (mainly speed of it) are still there.

    Really hard to decide!

  3. Jonne: Now that Aperture is under $100 in the new Mac App Store maybe the decision will be easier. I’m considering moving back to it too (given my recent post at my site). Not quite sure yet. I’ve been finding myself using iPhoto more, not for processing but for simple organization and syncing with my iPad and iPhone. Works like a charm. Wish LR was as simple and well designed.

    Sigh.

  4. Richard, I already have the full version of Aperture (have had it from version 2) and frequently go back to test it if I could start to use it instead of LR. We’ll see. Thanks for your support!

  5. The bw is very good Jonne, the software you choose can make a huge difference from what I have seen, but I do not know which one is best. I know Alex Lindsay from Pixel Corp uses a particular version on his Mac and it is amazing that I don’t know which one, but I think it’s a plugin in PS but may be available for Aperture.

Leave a Reply

