In his virtual shop

In his virtual shop, originally uploaded by Jonne Naarala.

Tiitus is selecting groceries from a virtual shelf here. 😉

The actual reason (even if I like the shot in general too) for posting this photo here was to state that I think I have found B&W adjustments which really pleases me.

I use Aperture 3 for my RAW converter (and also to adjust JPEGs) and after a long-time testing and tweaking I am now happy with the B&W results. No need to use any other programmes or plug-ins for the conversion anymore. I have tested and used before Nik’s Silver Efex Pro (also version 2) and DxO’s Film Pack 3. Both are very nice plug-ins, Silver Efex even a fantastic one. But it is always an extra step and more importantly you’ll get those huge TIFF files after using them.

That is why I have been trying to find suitable B&W adjustments in Aperture and to save them as my personal B&W preset. I want to have quite constant results which need only minor additional tweaking.

What I basically do in Aperture 3 is to use different curves adjustments together with some decrease in vibrancy plus some tinting in color levels to achieve above kind of a result.

I have been trying to find similar approach also for color shots but it seems to be a much more complicated thing to achieve.

Leave a Reply

