Interesting times…

…photography-wise. Yesterday I downloaded Lightroom 4 beta and tested it little bit. I found it very nice and it may be so that I could be ex-Aperture user in the future. Even though I like Aperture’s UI much more than LR’s there are quite many things processing-wise that are more pleasing in LR. I found especially the new shadows and highlights sliders very nice in LR 4 beta. Shadows slider for example is now adjusting shadow areas very accurately not touching the mid-tones. That’s quite a huge improvement. All the minor changes in develop module are very welcome. And now the adjustment brush corresponds the basic adjustment module which is also a welcomed thing. Now LR is having a map module too which is nice because I usually map my shots. 

Another interesting announcement was Fujifilm’s X-Pro1 camera. I have Fuji’s X100 compact and I really love it. Now there will be opportunity to have an interchangeable lens camera which shares same ideology as X100. I love the analogue approach in the high-end digital cameras. And of course the image quality of X100 is vey good indeed and I am sure X-Pro1 will be at least as good in that department. The prime lenses they announced with the camera body seem to be great ones! 
5 comments

  1. Interesting that you’d put a picture taken with 5D2 in a post where you talk about Fuji (current and future). 😉 Could you do that shallow depth of field image with the X100’s 35mm lens? Just curious. You should try.

    I have Aperture on my computer (bought from App store for $60) but my initial reaction is that I don’t like it as much as LR3. I’m sure much of this is just my now much more familiarity with LR. I desperately want to get Adobe out of my life but I can’t seem to do it. If Apple would get their acts together on Aperture maybe we could but until then I think I’m going to stick with LR.

  2. Above shot was processed in LR4 beta. That’s why it is there. I really like that in Aperture you can brush almost everyting in and away. That’s missing from LR. So, it is difficult to say which one really wins.

  3. The DOF is determined by the camera-to-subject distance, the lens focal length, the lens f-number, and the format size or circle of confusion criterion.

    You can get shallow DOF from any lens. It just depends on adjusting the parameters.

  4. Good point Khurt, but I’m sure you’d agree that a shallow depth of field shot that blurs the background is easier to achieve in situations like the mug above with a full frame sensor and a longer, faster lens.

Leave a Reply

