I almost sold my X-Pro1

It was quite a close call last evening. I was so tempted in Sony RX1. But now I’m glad that I cancelled my move. Full frame sensor would be nice of course but I think X-Pro1’s X-Trans sensor (APS-C) is also fantastic one. What we would need though is a good RAW converter for X-Pro1 files. But I can wait it with JPEGs, no problem. RX1 is quite expensive. I wouldn’t have enough money to buy it after selling all my X-Pro1 stuff. And I haven’t even learned to use X-Pro1 properly! There are quite many shots I’ve taken with X-Pro1 which really scream out “Did I really shot that! Really!”. That’s quite a feeling. But there are many bad shots too. Mainly my fault; some of them I can count for the camera too though. I feel that the focusing still is too hunting for the low light situations. And those situations are increasing in number at the moment here in Finland, I can tell you!

So, I have to shoot more with my X-Pro1 and learn. There are some improvements in my focusing tactic as I told in the previous post. I can get more keepers in that way.

I would also like to test my Voigtländer 90mm F3.5 SL II lens with X-Pro1. That lens has Canon EF mount and I’m looking for an adapter for it at the moment. That lens really shined with my 5D Mk II and with X-Pro1 it would be a 135mm focal length. I hope I can find an adapter for it. Maybe a Kipon one.

There are also nice Fujinon XF lenses coming up for the X-Pro1 as well as new lens options from Carl Zeiss. I think those are worth of waiting.

Fuji X-Pro1 with Fujinon XF 60mm F2.4 R Macro.

6 comments

  1. Jonne: Interesting development. I too noticed and lusted after the new Sony but I don’t think it’s the camera your XPRO 1 is, even though it’s very sexy.

    Still, given that you have and really love the X100 you might consider selling the “Pro” while you can get decent money for it and just waiting until you sort out what you really want in a camera.

    I haven’t pulled the trigger on a 5D Mark III because I’m just not sure I want to continue to go in that direction and its a lot of money. I may, but given that I’m not sure I figure I’ll keep experimenting with my small camera(s) and wait.

    Neither of us does this for a living so we have the luxury of doing as we like for whatever reasons we like. You could very easily continue to make fine images with the X100 forever (for many years to come) and be happy watching the rest of the world buy and sell the latest “hot” gear. Maybe best to stay out of that rat race.

  2. Richard, thank you very much for commenting. I really have to see now how Fuji’s X cameras evolve in the future. I actually just ordered Fotodiox adapter for EF/EF-S lenses so when it arrives I am able to attach 90 mm Voigtländer to my X-Pro1. That may be fun to test out.

    Well, now I’m off to shoot some pics or at least to process some old ones. 🙂

  3. Yes, of course there are RAW converters for X-Pro1 files but I think not a good one. At least LR (which I am using) has that widely discussed smearing problem in certain kind of shots (e.g. with shots including lots of green foliage).

Leave a Reply

