X-Pro1 vs. D600 – Part II

This is not a review. This is only my reasoning and ponderings. See previous post of this same topic below.

I just went through almost all my Canon 5D Mk II shots taken with 50/1.4 and 85/1.8 lenses. And that was a wonderful tour. So many shots with great memories. But also so many great shots technically. Quite many “action” shots of our sons and dogs too. At the moment I am not able to take that kind of action shots with my present cameras.

I went to mirrorless cameras because of their portability. And I felt that they have very nice IQ in the same small package. This is totally true. They have very nice IQ indeed. But is that IQ achieved in the photographic situations I am in? Low light and fast moving children and dogs. Short answer is no. This is of course only for my present cameras – Fuji X-Pro1 and Sigma DP2 Merrill.

Now I am in the process to decide if I should exchange my X-Pro1 to full frame Nikon D600. After going through my earlier own FF shots it seems that I should.

I chose mirrorless cameras because of the portability. But I am actually not carrying my cameras that much around. I am basically indoors or outdoors at our home or near vicinity of it. I really realize it now. Not much lugging around. When I carry my cameras I usually have to use a camera bag when I am not shooting because of children and dogs around me all the time. Otherwise there may be some damage happening. I have one small bag which is very good for DP2 Merrill but X-Pro1 will not fit in. For X-Pro1 (with XF 35 and XF 60 lenses) I use the same bag I was earlier using for 5D Mk II. And that’s not a big bag anyways. Nikon D600 with 50/1.8 (this lens is offered in the exchange) and 85/1.8 (this I would buy later on; it has quite reasonable price and very good IQ) lenses would fit confortably in that bag.

If I want to shoot those child/dog action shots again I need better AF than I am having at the moment. D600 would solve that problem. I would also like to have a good auto ISO system with nice ISO performance. D600 has that.

Those 5D Mk II shots were actually blowing my mind when I went through them. D600 is better camera than 5D Mk II in many areas. AF and ISO performance is better. Those linked to full frame would be nice combination for the shooting I am doing. I like shallow DoF and nice bokeh.

Later on I may add a quality compact in my arsenal. Sony RX100 would be nice one. Solves that lugging thing.

5 comments

  1. So you made the decision to switch after all 🙂 One should always go with your innermost feelings in photography, and I see your frustration with moving subjects and your present cameras. I can agree to that from my own experiences with an almost similar setup. Dogs and children are maybe the most difficult subjects for the gear in question.

    It’s funny how people are different regarding this topic. I feel like I’ve spent the last 8 years in photography searching for my own “thing”. For me (at least now) it’s spontaneous landscapes and portraits with one focal length. I would like to think that I’ve found my thing, but distractions keep adding up when time goes by. One day I’m craving for OM-D with manual lenses, another day I’m interested in FF DSLR with fast AF primes. Looking at people’s pictures in 500px and Flickr sometimes create the feeling of “I couldn’t do that with my current gear”. I want to do something different and more advanced many times, but I’m not sure if I get the same feeling out of the experience.

    Then again, I used to own a DSLR with a bag full of top notch optics of the time. Looking back at my pics I see however, that the best pictures I’ve taken (in subjective manner of course) are taken with a minuscule CCD sensor compact (D-Lux 4) and my film Leica. I try to remember my inner voice in photography, which is that I enjoy spending time at the location preparing, thinking about composition, waiting for the right light and most of all winning the limitations of the gear in hand. Maybe it makes no sense, but I like the feeling of getting the perfect shot with a compact, rather than taking a great picture with a DSLR and thinking what could I have done better.

    I think your choice to leave DP2M with a D600 forms a great package for different sorts of things. My craving for better high ISO performance had a conclusion of some sort too. I decided to order some more ISO400 B&W film for my trusty M3, and maybe I’ll start saving for a Summilux lens to get that one more stop of portrait performance and a more shallow bokeh.

  2. Jesse, very, very wise thoughts again. I am not really sure what to do at the moment. I know that I have been very fast to change systems lately (before mirrorless cameras I stayed a long time in Canon camp). I have to admit that you are like my inner voice which is seldomly saying these wise things to me. It is very good that you wrote this. There may be part III to add to these posts. I am not sure if anyone bothers to read it though…

  3. Jonne: When in a spot like this, the best thing to do is nothing, or, if there is a market and you are sure you’re done with Fuji, sell all that gear and try using the Sigma alone for a while. That’s where I am right now. I’m in no rush to buy a Canon 5D Mark III and new lenses although I probably will at some point. I’m enjoying using simpler cameras and while they don’t work in all situations, I’m not making a living from photography (like you) so I feel no pressure aside from a few friends who want better images for album covers and portfolios to spend the serious money to get back into DSLR gear.

    Sometimes paring down to a very simple kit and using if for a while will help clear your vision. That is where I am and I’m quite happy with it for the moment.

    I rented a small Sony RX100 to try this weekend. I’ll see if I can get comfortable with Sony’s ergonomics and the files that camera makes. I doubt I’ll get one any time soon but I was hoping it might be a stopgap for the low light images I’m having trouble with with my Canon S100 and G15 without going the route of DSLR.

    Again, my sincere recommendation is to not pull the trigger on the DSLR too soon, there is no rush. And, if you have a facility for renting maybe consider that over the holiday so you can test it all out.

    When in doubt, one option is to do nothing.

Leave a Reply

