There is an X in the model name

I was very fast with my actions to get a zoom compact. I have had Olympus XZ-2 for few hours now. Here are some reasons why I decided to have it to complement my Sigma DP2 Merrill and Fuji X100S (which I am going to buy when it will be in the stores).

I read Robin Wong's great four-part review on XZ-2 and was quite much sold after it.

XZ-2 has a great fast lens (f/1.8-2.5).

It seems to have a decent ISO performance up to 1600-3200.

I really like tilting LCD. Have been wanting that for a long time.

Nicely customizable. Fn1 and Fn2 buttons plus great hybrid control ring (having stepped and smooth modes) on the lens.

Built-in ND filter. Nice to have if you want to shoot wide open in bright lighting conditions.

Good resolution but not so huge file size. I have other cameras (with bigger sensors) for superb resolution.

So those were reasons why I decided to have the XZ-2. I may later on write a short mini review of it.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

