MyFinalTake

I still wanted to have more versatility in my camera set and ordered Micro Four Thirds system, namely Olympus OM-D. I have had m4/3 camera before (Olympus E-P1) so this is not a new world to me.

I have been somehow suffering between image sharpness and DoF control lately. I have had full frame cameras, APS-C sensor ones, and m4/3 stuff. Even if FF is of course nice I feel after my latest trip to FF (earlier I had FF too) that I am not in the level of those beasts as a photographer. I have heard so much positive things on Olympus OM-D that I decided to go with it. Enough-shallow DoF wide open and I still can get the whole face of a person sharp in shots, and this all without using extremely high ISO.

Micro four thirds system has also some very good lenses available. I ordered OM-D with Oly 45/1.8 and Sigma 30/2.8 lenses. I have (or actually my wife has – hopefully she will borrow the lenses to me!) still PAnasonic 20/1.7 and 45-200 zoom lenses for MFT system. I ordered that cheap Sigma 30/2.8 because there are praising reviews of it and it is basically the same lens that my Sigma DP2 Merrill has. It will be interesting to see how this lens performs as a 60mm equivalent (45mm with DP2M) with OM-D.

So, I will decide about getting Fuji X100S later, maybe in coming summer. Then we will know more about it and there will be many reviews in the web.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

