Come-back

I am now back to Micro Four Thirds. I bought Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Olympus M.ZUIKO 45/1.8 and Sigma 30/2.8 lenses. In addition, I have my old Panasonic lenses, 20/1.7 and 45-200 zoom. That's quite a cool set!

First impression with OM-D was that it is small! Smaller than I really thought of. But that's a good thing. Of course it feels small after D600.

Then the absolutely best thing. The autofocus is blazingly fast! I mean DSLR-fast. No, actually it is faster than that in real use. At least so in my hands and that's of course what really counts here. I had time to test OM-D yesterday only with 45/1.8 lens but at least with it I can truly say that this camera has the fastest AF I have ever used. Period.

Also IQ seems to be top notch. 45/1.8 is very sharp wide open. Very, very nice. Also noise seems to be very controllable at least up to ISO 3200, maybe up to 6400. That's a very good achievement for m4/3 sensor. That together with fast lenses which provide just perfect DoF wide open, and the best image stabilization system I have ever encountered, I really think OM-D and m4/3 system is deserving those praises all over the photography web pages.

And by the way, I just sold my Sigma DP2 Merrill. 🙂 I thought that it would be difficult to sell but…

 

9 comments

  1. I think you’ve come up with a great system Jonne and while you path to getting here has been winding, I think this system may be just right for you:

    small
    interchangeable lenses
    fast lenses
    low noise in low light
    viewfinder

    I’m going into New York today and will stop at B&H. I’ve put the RX1 and the OMD on my wish list and will try to get some hands on at the camera counter.

    Can you recommend a lens I should try with the OMD to get the best trial from it? A fast 35mm?

    Now, since you’ve posted about this we can mark the date…

  2. Thanks Jesse and Richard!

    Richard, those are exactly the plus points. I am not much a suitable person for recommending anything but I feel you should try out Olympus 45/1.8 and 75/1.8 lenses. Both spectacular. For 35mm it seems to be a trickier situation. Pana 20/1.7 is 40mm equivalent and Voigtländer 17/0.95 is the fastest (that I know) 35mm equivalent but it is MF only.

  3. Does this mean the D600 is gone? Is this the only body you are using. Seems like a long time since we have said hello my friend I hope all is well.

  4. Hi Jeremiah, so nice to hear from you! I hope all is well.

    Yes, D600 is gone now. I decided to go for m4/3 system and it seems to work well for me. I am going to buy Fuji X100S later on to have a APS-C sensor serious compact.

Leave a Reply

