Few full frame…ehh..APS-C…ehh…shots…

Well, these all were of course shot with Olympus OM-D which has a m4/3 sensor. Just to show you that it is not always the sensor which counts. I am very pleased for the above shots even if some of them are just very quick snapshots without any pre planning included. Just rise the camera and shoot.

If somebody would have said to me that some of these shots were full frame I would have answered that they really are nice FF shots. I think it is hard to guess sometimes without any EXIF info.

And I am truly sorry that I gave wrong info to you in the title!

8 comments

  1. Are you implying that you’re impressed with the fact that a smaller sensor can support lenses that support shallow depth of field? They’re nice images but I’m not quite sure what you’re saying in the post. The quality of the blur is a function of those nice fast lenses you’re using, right? But, the color and detail in the subjects is mostly all about the sensor and there’s no doubt from your images and from others I’m seeing that the OM-D has a great sensor.

    What about the shots would make you believe they were made with a full frame camera?

  2. Nothing would make me believe that. That’s the idea. Many people are buying cameras for their sensors (I know I am in that group too). Bigger sensor, better pictures. Nope.

  3. I like your shots and the point you are making. The phenomenon and discourses you are describing is truly guiding our camera choices subconsciously. Manufacturers want to keep full frame alive, because it’s seen as the “pro” choice you can’t live without, if you want to make good photographs. Of course there are tons of lenses around designed for a 24x36mm sensor, which might affect the decision for some, but full frame is no more the de-facto choice for image quality and shallow DOF.

    I think it’s just a matter of time before we see pros using m4/3 systems, because OM-D and GH3 do deliver what is needed, and have the advantage of smaller body size and a much lighter total package with lenses. We are seeing that change even now, although the general opinion won’t change instantly due to 60 years of full frame history. D800 is replacing the medium format systems in studio due to great price/performance combination, and I think the same will happen with m4/3 systems and full frame pro bodies.

    It’s really more about choosing your user experience rather than basing your decision on image quality. Majority of cameras provide the necessary quality now, so it’s a question of what we want from those other functions (or what we think we need) on a camera body.

  4. That said, it’s not “bigger sensor= better pictures” but a bigger sensor can allow you to see more detail in pictures and can allow easier cropping without losing too much resolution to print.

    I’m liking my Sony RX100 better than either of my small Canon cameras because of the sensor alone. The rest of the RX100 is crap IMHO, it’s awful to use in the field, but there’s no denying that it’s 1″ sensor makes better images than the 1/2″ sensors on the G15 and S100. So, in my case it’s all about sensor. The Sony does have a decent lens as well but so does the G15 so what I’m seeing is all about sensor.

    For the ice shots I’ve been working on, I can say without a doubt that the bigger sensor on the Sony is producing consistently better images. I’ve shot with all three cameras on every trip I’ve been on and I routinely throw out all output from the smaller sensor cameras. I say that knowing that the Canons are a joy to use next to the Sony which is awful.

    So, for me, it’s all about sensor size at the moment.

  5. …and remember, I’m not doing shallow depth of field images of people with primes, I’m doing landscape photography at f/8 and smaller apertures so blur and bokeh are not my thing at the moment.

  6. Thanks for the links, guys! Jesse, I didn’t know that this is the subject of the day. 😉 But really nice that this topic brings out some discussion. I find it quite important matter which has been influencing at least my own decisions a lot. Hopefully I am able to see also the other sides of this question and not to be so much technology oriented.

Leave a Reply

