Simplifying

It seems that life is never simple enough. At least when it comes to camera gear. I am now using m4/3 system (Olympus OM-D and several prime lenses) as my camera system. It is very fantastic camera but I still feel something is missing from the user experience. Or should I say I’m having too much stuff for the proper user experience. I highly recommend to read Jesse’s blog. He is a fellow photographer and blogger pondering the same kind of things and now he has found a solution which seems to work for him.

I have some fantastic m4/3 lenses (e.g. M.ZUIKO 45/1.8 and 75/1.8). But I’m still frustrated every time when I have to change lenses. I am never just picking the camera up and shooting. It seems I really need a camera which liberates me from this. Something simple and beautiful. It does not have to be a all round system. I do not need that kind of a camera. I need a camera which will make think. But after I have picked the camera up. At the moment I am thinking too much for the right lens choices before I am even touching the camera.

Maybe Fuji X100S would be that kind of a camera? A liberating one. When browsing through my Flickr set for X100 shots I realized how versatile that beauty really is. From great close-ups to nice landscapes. And everything in between. Just with that 35mm focal length.

Another tempting option would be Sony RX1 but it is really expensive. Should I say fortunately very expensive because I have said in many blog posts that full frame is not my thing.

Well I know some people will say that I will be missing longer focal lengths if I choose X100S. That may well be true. Solution for that would be a zoom lens camera like Sony RX100. But then I would be frustrated in zooming back and forth. It is similar thing for the user experience as is the lens changing thing. For longer focal length maybe the new Sigma DP3M (with a 75mm equivalent lens) would be an option. I know, I know. I just sold my DP2M. But anyways. Just a suggestion for myself. Check out these DP3M sample photos.

Summarizing this it seems that I would like to simplify my camera gear through most complicated ponderings. Nothing new in that actually. Still looking to the future open-minded as Herkko does in the shot below.

7 comments

  1. Are you thinking of replacing the Olympus with the X100s or adding the Fuji? I certainly think the X100s looks like an answer for you primarily because you loved the first version of the camera and the improvements all look good. I’m considering the X100s too although I’m still torn about being limited to a 35mm prime lens, no matter how good it is. I agree that a fast prime is good, changing lenses is not so good but for some of my work I think I need a wider angle of view. Do you know when the X100s is going to ship?

  2. … and, since you’re liking the OM-D you could simply leave a fast 35mm prime on it and mimic the performance of the X100s or RX1. There’s nothing that says you HAVE to change lenses. Right?

  3. I think the idea of interchangeable lens cameras is to have different lenses. Otherwise it is like a fixed lens camera.

    I am not sure when X100S will ship but some people say that in few weeks and some April-May. Let’s see.

  4. Thanks for the reference 🙂 I have to agree with Richard here. If you find a body that satisfies you, go with the one lens approach. I know I see compositions in 50mm FOV, so I really don’t need anything else right now. It seems to be a pure impossibility to find a camera that has a fixed lens which suits your own preference, AND offers the user experience that leaves nothing to be desired.

    The point of interchangeable lens body is to find a perfect combo that suits you best. Two lenses might be ok if you truly master them both, but anything more is just too complicated at least for me.

  5. I had three Voigtländers (20, 40, 90mm) when I had 5D Mk II and I really loved those lenses. 25/0.95 is quite a big lens for m4/3 system and I saw some comments that it is not that sharp even with smaller apertures. And I like the fast and snappy AF in OM-D.

Leave a Reply

