Now waiting Fuji X100S to ship

Selling my OM-D set has been proceeding slowly but surely. I still have the camera body and few lenses. I have now about the money to buy X100S when it is out. My plan is to buy another camera to complement X100S but I am not sure what to purchase. Sony RX100 is still on my list as is Sigma DP3 Merrill (which has a 75mm equivalent lens). DP3M is already shipping in Japan and oh man those captures shot with it are marvelous.

It may be so soon that I do not have any (digital) camera at all for some time. That’s a quite peculiar situation. Just get those models on the market soon!

10 comments

  1. Why did you sell the DP2M in the first place? Just wondering if you’re now after DP3M 🙂 Multiple camera strategy feels awkward as an idea. You don’t like having multiple lenses, how about having 3 different cameras and your iPhone then?

    X100s sure is interesting, but there’s something keeping me on my toes. I think there’s nothing in it the original model couldn’t offer. AF might be a bit faster, but I think it still will be as uncertain in low-light situations. Image quality.. 12 vs. 16 MP is basically the same. Other improvements are mostly fixes to the original design. Luckily Adobe has made some effort with their X-trans support now. It should be a good camera, as the original X100 was, but I’m not sure after owning the original if there’s enough to keep me happy. X-pro1 with the same improvements in the focus system (peaking, split-image MF and phase-detection AF) would be something I’d get my hands on instantly. On X100s with fly-by-wire lens these improvements feel a bit.. wasted.

    Having said that, I was quite happy with the X100. The improvements make it even better. The problem is, I feel maybe I’ve moved on. Have you?

  2. I think a problem with your strategy is to get rid of one entire set up and go to another. I realize its a matter of money but it seems to me that you need to overlap cameras so you can compare them more easily, otherwise you may be right back at the same place again. I agree with Jesse, you had the X100 and sold it, maybe you are putting too much faith or hope in the new model being better so are putting unrealistic expectations on it. Then there is the whole Sigma thing… I thought you determined that this camera was not for you. What makes you think the newer model will be different?

    You’re a scientist, you need to come up with a method to compare these cameras that yields results more efficiently. I say that knowing that there is also an emotional connection with a camera or any tool one uses frequently and it’s either there or it isn’t.

    In other news my friend Mamen got her RX1 rental and is love with the camera. We talked (FaceTime) last night about the RX1’s strengths and shortcomings and both felt and feel that it’s a camera worth serious consideration. I think it makes even more sense for you, Jonne, in that it takes the place of both the X100(s) and Sigma. Given your comments on what you like in cameras coupled with the types of images you make, I think the RX1 is a perfect fit for you. I’ll bet if you tried one you would agree.

    And no, I have not ordered one yet, I’m trying to sit on my hands until Mamen and I talk again next week. Like you I can be a bit too impulsive about these things and I’d like to try to make sure I’m comfortable with a purchase like that. I did sell my Canon G15 the other day as I don’t use it at all since I got the Sony RX100, so like you I am without “serious” camera and have been for a while. I feel somehow lighter not having a lot of gear, and this too is an appeal of the RX1.

  3. Ouch, people are not liking my moves. 🙂

    Richard, yes I am a scientist but it is my work. I do not like to be a scientist in my hobby. I have a privilege to do decisions purely by emotion.

    Now I am even more mixed up with my emotions on this. I still have the OM-D body and two lenses left…

    Oh dear…

  4. I’m liking your moves! Your impulsiveness is hugely entertaining to read 😀 I just hope you won’t make moves you’ll soon regret. Richard has a point in his suggestion to overlap the systems.

    But yes, I’ve learned to sit on my decisions for a while before acting. Currently I have no idea of what I’ll get, and I’m using only my film gear and iPhone now. It’ll come to me, at least I like to believe so. It’s actually quite relaxing now, since I decided I don’t HAVE to buy anything right now when I’m feeling uncertain.

    For me there are 3 things that matter. Price, user experience and technical properties. I can always match two of those, but the third one seems impossible.

  5. Jonne; Not to worry, I think both Jesse and I can relate all too well with your indecision, impulsiveness, and “path” which is why we comment. As you should know, I’ve been through much the same path myself over many years and frankly, I’m worn out from it.

    One thing that I’ve learned is that while some cameras and other tools feel right almost immediately, others take time to sink in. Example: I almost returned the Sony RX100 because it’s ergonomics are not great, but it’s IQ is so much better than any Canon cameras I have that I decided to keep it a while. I’m glad I did because I got over most of the ergonomic problems. The problems are still there and I hope Sony fixes them but I can use the camera as I like now and the IQ is excellent.

    For me, ergonomics (how it work and I work it) used to be my top priority with IQ and price falling behind but this little camera has changed that. As long as I can use it and it doesn’t get in my way, IQ rules.

    So, I recently sold my Canon G15 which was a joy to use but had inferior IQ.

    As far as I can tell, you’ve made excellent images with almost every camera you’ve had and now that I’m considering an RX1 instead of a DSLR I can totally relate to dumping your 5D2 and big lenses. However, you were very happy with the Fuji X100 and I was shocked that you got rid of it. So, the fact that you’d like to get one of those again seems quite understandable and even if the new one isn’t all that much better than the old one, you’ll have come back to a place you’re comfortable with.

    I still do think the RX1 would be an interesting camera for you to try out, I wish there was a way for that to happen. If I could send you one for a week I would.

  6. Thanks, Richard. Those are quite exactly the thoughts I also have. I really hope I would settle down with these matters soon. That will be needed because otherwise the photography part will be in too minor role as compared to gear whirlpool.

    I am always very happy about your comments (and this means Jesse too) and your wisdom.

  7. The other variable here that we haven’t discussed (that I know of) is us getting bored with our photography, getting into a creative slump and using a change in equipment to (hopefully) pull us out of it. I certainly have done this over the years with new lenses and such. Sometimes it works, many times it doesn’t.

    In fact, when I look back, the things that stimulate me the most are not gear related but being with other photographers and/or artists and seeing new work. No doubt we can make images with almost any camera but it’s where we point the camera (our ideas for images) that change over time.

    I was over at my friend, the artist Joy Brown’s house yesterday. She was showing me the proof pages of a book that’s being made on her work. The design of the book is spectacular, very nicely done and if the printing is good it will be quite amazing. The pages of the book were covered with my photographs of her work which look great and the lightbulb that went off in my head was the fact that I’ve only made a few books of my work and I need to make more.

    This has little to do with gear or even taking new photographs, more to do with what I want to do with my photographs (besides posting them on flickr and my web sites). But, it was incredibly stimulating. I came home with a plan to make more books and booklets of my work.

    Having a focus like this, like having a show or making prints is a very good way to both get out of a slump and narrow one’s struggle to find the right tools.

    The consistent thing in your work over many years is your documentation of your family and the place you live. Why not go forward with a bit more of that in mind and try to document more things that are regular parts of your life with the end being a book. The book is for you, not to make money by selling. You can print 20 of them for your family and be done with it but it will be a “gallery” of your excellent images documenting your life.

    You could do it at magcloud or blurb or with some other service and it would give your images a place to live besides the web. And, it would take your mind off of cameras for a while.

    Personally, I’d like to see more images of other aspects of your life in Findland: where you shop for food, what your drive to work looks like, your office at work, etc. Think about people in various places on earth who might know of you and what they might find interesting about your life and take some pictures of those things.

    You could start by making a list of everything you might want to shoot and then see what you have in your image collection that covers that, then go out with whatever camera is at hand and shoot more. In Lightroom make some collections of those aspects of your life to start organizing. Over time an overall organization will present itself but in the end a “chapter” might be a day in my life in Finland. Another might be preparing a holiday meal and your family around the dinner table.

    These kinds of themes pull together the types of images you already have a lot of and looking at those will give you ideas for new one.

    Anyway, just some thoughts to distract you from obsessing over camera gear.

Leave a Reply

