Two-body approach?

Now that I have the fantastic Ricoh GR which has a prime lens of 28mm focal length (in 35mm equivalent format) I have been thinking of possible two-body resolution for my camera gear. This means an addition of another fixed prime lens camera which has a longer focal length than the GR. Well, not so many options actually. 🙂 I think the only one will be Sigma DP3M which has 75mm (equiv.) lens. I had earlier Sigma DP2M (45mm equiv.) but that focal length is too close to 28mm and I really want more tele option.

The idea here is to have two camera bodies with me and both of those having a fixed prime lens. Both GR and DP3M are reasonably small cameras and that way easy to carry with. I just have to find a perfect camera bag (a small one which has just enough space for these two cameras) and I will have a fantastic compo for my kind of shooting.

I still have Fuji X-Pro1 which has interchangeable lenses, and I think I will keep X-Pro1, at least for now. It has a very wonderful image quality and reasonably small size. I had earlier Sigma DP2M (45mm equiv.) and I sold it because I made some silly moves in my camera purchases (like Nikon D600). Another reason to sell it was that I felt processing its RAW files quite awkward job. This is of course true for DP3M also. Sigma Photo Pro is not very nice program to use and I am now trying out Iridient Developer 2 for Sigma’s files to see how that RAW developer will manage.

All in all, this may be the perfect solution for me as I do not like changing lenses and I nowadays prefer serious cameras in small bodies like both GR and DP3M are.

4 comments

  1. Why not put a longer lens on the X-Pro 1 and leave it on… You may already have such a lens. Try that for a while (no changing lenses) and see if only two focal lengths feels comfortable. That’s what I’d do, anyway.

    I’m actually considering a small Canon DSLR with a small zoom on it and a small 40mm prime as a second body. Two fixed lens bodies doesn’t work for me, even though I love the Ricoh GR. I’d want my second camera to be different and more flexible.

  2. Richard, I do not have that kind of a AF lens for X-Pro1 at the moment. And of course that combination would be larger and heavier as compared to DP3M.

    Did I got this right: you are going to buy two new bodies, one for a zoom and one for the 40mm prime?

    Jorge Ledesma has posted some very beautiful shots with Pentax K-5 IIs and 31mm prime. And now I am too thinking about DSLR again! Of course that combo is quite extensive, about 2500 euros.

  3. Jonne: No, I’m considering 1 new DSLR body and a zoom lens. At the moment, a Canon 6D or 5D3 and a 24-70mm f/2.8 II and one or two fast primes. I’ve always had it in the back of my head that I would return to the DSLR world but with no rush. So, that’s probably what I’ll do.

    I’m also considering a camera you had for a while, the Olympus OM-D coupled with the Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 X OIS. That would be the micro 4/3 equivalent of a 24-70mm zoom with constant aperture.

    I might rent some of this stuff to try it out on my next LA trip, we’ll see.

    This doesn’t mean I’m not happy with the Ricoh GR, I’m very happy with it. But, I need another camera for more flexibility.

  4. Okay. I thought that you meant XXXD series Canon for “a small Canon DSLR”. Well, your plan sounds valid and interesting. I have heard lots of praising for Pana 12-35mm lens, so should be a very capable option if you are going for m4/3 route.

Leave a Reply

