Should I zoom in?

I’ve been pondering lately to buy a zoom lens. Oh my, I am a prime only guy. But now there is one zoom lens I may want to have. Namely Fujinon 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 R LM OIS. It seems to be highly praised almost everywhere. And it really provides that tele reach (83-300mm) which I am missing time to time. It is about 730 euros, so not bad for the build quality and IQ it provides.

Should I go for it then? I have developed some kind of a zoom barrier in my head. Very difficult to use anything else than prime lenses. Quite funny. Nope.

Why can’t Fuji introduce a 135mm (200mm equivalent) f/2 prime? I would buy that one instantly. Or at least 85mm?

4 comments

  1. There is a difference between a fast, long prime and a zoom. It seems you are unsure of what you want, or, you want both. I like fast zooms but have little use for slow ones or variable aperture ones. The canon 24-70mm f/2.8 was my favorite lens of all time and if it were me I would try to create that on whichever camera I had. I may go for a full frame canon DSLR and the new version of that lens as a second camera to my Ricoh GR.

  2. Yep, I do not know yet. There is also very nice manual focus option (I have been shooting quite much with my manual focus 55mm Super-Takumar lately): Voigtländer 75/1.8 Heliar Classic. I’ve had Voigtländers before and they are great lenses.

  3. I’ve been looking at the same lens.. I’m not quite sure if I’m ready for zoom just yet. It makes composing a lot easier, but on the other hand it might make me rush and make hasty decisions on scene. I sold my zooms for SLR years ago, when I decided I’m not ready for them yet.

    It sure has gotten a lot of favorable reviews. An interesting lens despite the aperture.. Look at Leica X Vario, not what you’d call a fast lens there either 🙂

  4. Fujinon 55-200mm really is an interesting option. I am of course open to any other opinions/suggestions. At the moment I think I am not going for DP3M route because of the poor ISO performance and workflow issues.

Leave a Reply

