A quick tele zoom test

Took my old trusty (not yet rusty) Olympus E-P1 (yes, that first generation digital PEN) outdoors and fixed Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-200mm F4-5.6 MEGA OIS (oh man, what a name!) zoom lens on it. This was just to see how I will behave with a zoom lens.

I was shooting at our yard and guess what I noticed after a short session? Well, the normal thing I notice every time I am using zoom lenses. I will use almost exclusively far ends of the zooms. So, in this case 45mm or 200mm. Actually this time it was 95% 200mm. I was shooting different types of subjects and I just was zooming in to the 200mm (400mm equivalent). Couldn’t help. A 200mm prime lens could have done the job (at least 95% of it). I wasn’t utilizing zoom’s versatility.

So, it really seems (still) that I am a prime lens guy. This was a very short test of course but it will give me something to think of. I have been pondering to purchase Fujinon 55-200mm zoom for my Fuji X-Pro1 but why should I do that if I am going to use only the 200mm end after all. No point to get a zoom lens for that. Fuji does not offer any tele primes at the moment (there is 60/2.4 Macro but I have had it earlier and I felt that the focus speed was too slow).

I have for my X-Pro1 the Asahi Pentax Super-Takumar 135mm F3.5 lens (about 200mm equiv.) but it is manual focus only and frankly too long lens to hand-hold. Remember that X-Pro1 does not have any in-body IS.

I would be happy with something like 150-200mm equivalent focal length. But this needs more pondering because this may need rethinking of my camera system choices. I am not sure if I am ready for that…

In the end two shots at 200mm (400mm equiv.) with the E-P1 and Pana 45-200mm zoom. I am quite pleased to them.

KWH Pipe A home between trunks
Leave a Reply

