Shooting monochrome with Leica Digilux 2

I have been now regularly testing my Leica Digilux 2 and I have not been very convinced with its color output (yet). Of course there are some shots in each shooting session which please me but unfortunately most shots are quite mediocre. For color work I prefer this camera to shoot close-ups (see my earlier post on this) and this area it handles just wonderfully.

I have been after a camera which I could use solely as a monochrome camera (something like a poor-mans Leica Monochrom). I have tested my Fuji X-Pro1 and Ricoh GR for this purpose. Both of those cameras produce fantastic in-camera B&Ws but I prefer to use these modern cameras more freely, i.e. for both color and monochrome. And I like to shoot RAW with those two and make B&W conversions in post-processing.

I tested today my Digilux 2 to shoot in-camera B&Ws. I just put camera’s white balance adjustment to B&W and went to shoot some pics. When I opened the shots in Lightroom I was surprised very positively. In-camera B&Ws were very pleasing with nice gradations and good dynamic range. They needed very little tweaking in LR. I think the WB adjustment of my Leica Digilux 2 will be fixed to B&W from now on. Monochrome shooting suits this classic so well and I think the results are spectacular (at least by my standards) for a 10 year old 5 MP camera used by a hobbyist shooter.

Here are just few examples of the results I got:

5 comments

  1. I got one last year and its a jewel of a BW shooter! Limitations of course make it a bugger to use in low light, and the grain at ISO 100 is like 800 on any modern digicam. But I feel the grain and color and b/w tone is very film like. Hard to top that lens too! My ideal cam would be the Fuji X100S with that Summicron! 🙂

  2. Enjoy and agree w your choice of going w classic cameras and staying small ! I have an x2 Leica going for digilux 2 or Leica X1. A site u need to visit is therollingroad.blogspot out of Australia john shingle ton mainly uses X1 beautiful photos. I thank you for sharing your photos.

Leave a Reply

