Three-shot series helped

Spider swing fun, originally uploaded by Jonne Naarala.

This is an example of an action shot you are able to shoot with a slow camera like Leica Digilux 2. That camera has a fantastic feature to shoot three consecutive shots in about 1.5 seconds. I am now using it all the time with my Digilux 2.

In this swing shot I got the decisive moment to capture the scene perfectly and in the way I thought beforehand. Of course using the three-shot series feature means lots of work in post-processing to go through all the shots and to select the best one from the three (I’ll usually delete the other two). But I think I’ll get so much more keepers using this feauture that it is worth all the time used in the selecting process.

The only problem using three-shot series with Leica Digilux 2 is that it can only use SD cards up to 2 Gb. Even if the JPEGs are quite small in size you have to have many SD cards with you if you want to use this feauture e.g. in a holiday where you do not have an access to your computer.

So, my Digilux 2 saga continues. It seems that I am going to enjoy it more and more day after day.

2 comments

  1. Glad to hear, I am looking for a new camera myself, the micro 4/3 cameras have caught my eye, but I am still looking around.

  2. Jeremiah, m4/3 system is a very nice option (lots of great lenses to choose from) but remember that you can get also APS-C sized sensor in almost similar sized package (e.g. Fuji X-E1).

Leave a Reply

