Need for viewfinder?

I have four cameras at the moment of which three have viewfinders. My Fuji X-Pro1 has both electronic and optical viewfinders (EVF and OVF), Nikon 1 V1 has an EVF as does my Leica Digilux 2 whereas my Ricoh GR has neither of them. Even if my Digilux 2 has a crappy EVF I feel that it is a pleasure to rise that camera to my eye and use that EVF. Same with V1 and X-Pro1 which have modern viewfinders. I’ll get more intimate feeling using a viewfinder. I’ll become one with the camera. The feeling is quite hard to explain but it gives you a great user experience. And I have the possibility to choose between the LCD and a viewfinder with those cameras. Of course I am using the LCD quite a much actually depending on the photographic situation. But I still have the option to choose.

How do you feel? Is a viewfinder a must for you?

This kind of a pondering is always hazardous to me because it may easily lead me to think of new gear. That’s why I should try to relax on this matter.

Relaxing
3 comments

  1. Jonne,

    I am definitely a fan of viewfinders. Not only does bringing the camera to your eye seem natural, but it is also a much steadier way to hold it. And in bright sunlight it can be almost impossible to see the image on the LCD. Even a less-than-perfect EVF is often better than just an LCD.

    I have one compact camera that has only an LCD, and I have considered fitting it with a hood with an eyepiece. The only reason I did not do it is because the hood would be too bulky.

  2. This is a deal breaker for me my friend, as I am looking for a small system to replace my aging D60, any one which doesn’t have either is not making my list. I can’t get past taking photos without a viewfinder of some sort. I am definitely considering the V1, but the OMD is also high on the list…so hard to choose.

Leave a Reply

