47mm

I really love the 47mm crop mode which Ricoh GR acquired in the latest firmware. The GR now has the native 28mm field of view and two crop modes, 35mm and 47mm. This really elevates this camera in the new level. The difference between 28mm and 35mm is not huge (in my mind) but 47mm is of course in a different league. What I noticed, though, was that I was using almost exclusively the 47mm crop after its introduction. That could be because of the excitement about this new feature or it could be because of my preference to longer than 28mm focal lengths. This made me think about this whole situation (again). If I am towards longer than 28mm focal lengths should I use (or take to our vacation) my Fuji X-Pro1 with the fantastic Fujinon 35/1.4 lens (50mm equiv.) instead of the GR? Better IQ because of no cropping made. Well, it seems that life is never easy when pondering about the gear… 🙂

Here are just few shots taken with the 47mm crop mode (Ricoh GR).

Nuts At the playground Autumn colors
4 comments

  1. Frankly, I don’t like “crop modes” because they don’t simulate all that happens when you put a longer lens on a camera, they simply crop the wider angle of view, leaving the same lack of image compression that was recorded at 28mm. What we like about longer lenses (at least I think you like these things) is the slight compression and ability to isolate something from its surroundings with shallow depth of field blur. Cropping in camera does none of this.

    So, I agree, you’re better off with your Fuji camera and some longer, faster lenses if you want the effects they give.

    Bring the GR as a backup to the Pro camera.

  2. Not silly at all Jonne, but I know you know the difference between cropping a 28mm angle of view and what the optics of a 50mm lens do to all the other stuff besides angle of view, which, for you and me, is important stuff.

Leave a Reply

