RAW business with Leica Digilux 2

I have been lately testing RAW shooting with my Leica Digilux 2. Earlier I was not so interested in capturing RAW files with Digilux 2 because of the long writing times needed. It takes 6-7 seconds to write a single RAW file into an SD card! I thought in the first place that the slow operation would hinder me too much to shoot RAW but I found it to be different. Actually the slow pace makes me think about the shooting situation more and the slowness somehow suits so well for this dinosaur camera.

But what is actually the best thing in RAW shooting is the fact that I will get better shots in that way. When shooting JPEGs with Digilux 2 I had many times problems with the white balance. With RAW those problems are gone. Another big thing is that I seem to get more details in my captures using RAW. It is actually quite amazing how much details this 5 MPix camera is able to deliver. I like the CCD sensor rendering – it gives almost magical old-school feeling into the shots. This is quite difficult to explain but it is there.

Below are few shots captured in RAW with Digilux 2. First two of them have been developed in LR and the two last ones in Aperture which I am testing again and actually enjoying it. I am not sure yet if I am going to use solely Aperture but it is nice to have options in this respect too.

My Nikon 1 V1 Decorative stuff Downhillers Ski parking
One comment

  1. That is an interesting point of view on the slow recording speeds. I am thinking I need to try my dinosaur and see what quality of images I can capture. I like that it’s smaller than my D60 was, but it is still clunky as compared to the size I had in mind. Funny how an 11 year old camera feels old school…but it feels new when I use it next to the film cameras I am practicing with.

Leave a Reply

