To use or not iPad at work?

I have been asking that question since I got iPad 2 shortly after it was introduced. I am still asking that same question. That quite much sums up the situation. Not an easy task for few reasons.

First of all, I use (or I am actually almost forced to use) PC at work. Not a Mac (which I use at home). I write scientific articles, funding applications, and many other kind of documents using Microsoft Word because it is most widely used word processing system and it actually has the best document commenting and tracking system available. So this info is important as a background.

I would like to use my iPad in many meetings we have here at work to make notes and short memos which I could easily transfer to my PC and which I could effortlessly distribute to my colleagues. I have tried so many kind of note making apps with iPad and no one of those have been great. Sometimes I would like to open a scientific manuscript with my iPad and make some corrections in it. Not an easy task. Actually I find it quite much an impossible task. It seems that an iOS version of MS Word would be needed to effectively work in this PC-Mac-iOS world.

I think the easiest way to fix these problems would be to buy a MacBook Air and istall MS Word for Mac in it. Then I would have the best possible (even though not perfect) solution for my above problem. But that solution would cost me about 1000 euros in minimum.

2 comments

  1. I think your solution is the way to go. You not only get a choice of software writing tools but also a good hardware keyboard and as much or more storage space. I still prefer to do almost all of my heavy lifting on my computer and I have an iPad Air which is extremely powerful.

  2. I bought a Logitech keyboard cover for my iPad, I use word on it, the keyboard is not awkward, almost the same feel as full size, you can try it …makes life easier and almost looks like mini MacBook…hmmm old post, probably my comment is useless now 😉

Leave a Reply

