Two latest shots with GRD IV

I have been testing many things and options with my Ricoh GRD IV and the situation is the same I have with every new camera – I do not know which shooting options to choose. Basically I would like to use this kind of a small camera in JPEG mode and just shoot and make only very minor post-processing in Lightroom. I am quite much into B&Ws at the moment but I do not know if I am pleased to in-camera high-contrast ones. I made some adjustments for the in-camera HC B&W effect and I feel it is now going into the better direction. I have also been testing the normal in-camera B&Ws but they still are too “mild” to my liking.

There is also a possibility to shoot image effect bracketing with Ricoh GRD IV and that is a very nice option which I tested out but in the end I didn’t like the multiple JPEGs from every shot. Too much to go through in LR and too many decision to make. I would like to keep things as simple as possible. Occasionally I like the bleach bypass effect a lot but the problem is that I will get bored with it quite easily.

The easiest answer to all above would be to shoot RAW but I do not shoot RAW anymore even with my Fujis. Well, with my Nikon 1 V1 I do shoot RAW because I do not like its JPEG output. It seems I have to test more options with my GRD IV. Here are two shots to show the JPEG output in HC B&W mode and in bleach bypass mode. I like them both.

Mute and shoot

X100 and lenses
2 comments

  1. Thanks for commenting, Richard. At the moment I am shooting mainly JPEGs with bleach bypass effect. I have no problems in converting to B&W from bleach bypass shot in LR.

Leave a Reply

