I detached the tele converter

Today I decided to detach the TCL-X100 tele converter from my Fuji X100. Why so? I purchased it to get a 50 mm focal length to make the X100 better portrait camera and to get that FoV in general. The tele converter was working very nicely in outdoor use but I was not so happy with it indoors in poor lighting conditions. My intention was to use my Ricoh GR (28 mm equivalent) with my Fuji X100 with the tele converter (50 mm equivalent) to get two-camera combo which is small in size. Actually the X100 is not any small camera when the TCL-X100 is attached to it. That combination is almost same size (and actually heavier) than my Fuji X-Pro1 with XF 35/1.4 lens attached. And of course the XF 35/1.4 lens is much better than the tele converter. Sharper and faster. So, if I want a 28/50 mm combo the best option would be the GR with X-Pro1.

Actually I have used my Fuji X100 a lot as a portrait camera with its standard 35 mm equivalent lens. And I have been pleased for the results every time. Actually I like more ”environmental” portraits with some visible background. Here are some examples of that kind of portraits shot with X100 in its standard configuration:

Jenni at the Old Town walls

 

Puddle love

Tiitus at the beach

Up and happy

 

Relaxing

Happy pilot

I am so tall!
7 comments

  1. It’s only when you want to fill the frame with a face that the problems of 35mm will present itself. Otherwise, for the types of images you’ve posted here even 28mm is workable.

    I decided against the wide angle converter as I didn’t want to make the camera bigger and I didn’t want to have to mess with the menu system as I moved back and forth. Like you, I’m keeping my various cameras simple and using them for their best purposes.

    That said, the little Sony RX100’s 24mm was very useful in New York the other day and while the difference between 28mm and 24mm is small, it’s significant to me and can add some drama to a wide angle shot.

    1. I’d actually really like an X100 that had a 28mm lens on it (or whatever would produce that angle of view on its sensor). That would appeal to me. But, like you say, we have the Ricoh GR for that with the same size sensor (although a different color palette) so no point in having all cameras the same. Nice to have a variety of tools and use them interchangeably.

      My only issue with too many cameras is that it dilutes the immersion needed for me to get totally comfortable with the tool. I really like the tool to fall into the background so I can just take pictures and because each of these tools works differently it forced me to think about which I’m using and how to best adjust it. My pea brain chokes on stuff like this. But, if I can keep my current set of cameras long enough, maybe I’ll get comfortable with all of them. Who knows? 😉

      1. I can work with four different cameras or so. If there is more (and I have more) I have to recall quite many things when shooting. So I really understand what you mean.

  2. I’m not an optical engineer or expert, but I cant imagine it would be to difficult to buil into the lens a fixed step zoom, 28 35 50, or simply make a X100Tz with a short 28-50 (or 75) zoom such as leica have done with their X Vario. The idea or changing lenses takes away from the concept of light and agile, having said that, I analyzed my photos in Lightroom taken over the past 8 years of digital – all my favorite photos are 35mm, and the x100/s/t does it so beautifully, zoom would be cool though – but if a zoom would mean smaller aperture count me out

  3. My dilemmas entirely! Very helpful to see them spelled out so clearly. I couldn’t bond with the my Fuji X100S as 35mm and had a much more positive experience once I put the teleconverter on, but of course it’s no longer a compact! So now – and especially encouraged by the images posted – I’m thinking I should go back to 35mm and learn that properly. I was thinking of swopping to a GR for the 47mm crop until I realised there is a difference between a crop and the actual focal length in terms of perspective. My X-Vario does 28, 35, 50 and 70 at prime lens quality. (Forget all the talk about slow lens: the lens and the sensor together cope perfectly when higher ISO is necessary – unbelievable quality.) But not small either. At the moment my take-anwhere camera when I don’t want the size is the Leica C – which again produces far better images than it should!! And so it goes on……….

Leave a Reply

