Fuji X100M

No. I do not have any insider information about next X100 series camera.

But I named my Fuji X100 as X100M. X100 Monochrom (sorry, Leica…). Well, obviously it is not only a name that changed but I put it to shoot B&W JPEGs. I deserve a special B&W camera. And X100 is perfect for that. I have special relationship with this camera, so, it suits well for a special task. X100 is also quite slow camera to work with. This is actually good for my monochrome work. Better not to have all fancy bells and whistles.

I use the following B&W settings:

  • Film simulation: Monochrome + red filter
  • Sharpness: M-Hard
  • Highlight tone: M-Hard
  • Shadow tone: Hard
  • Noise reduction: M-Low

Those settings combined with the use of exposure compensation provide results I like. I may even attach again my TCL-X100 tele converter to test it with my new X100M. 🙂

May the Force be with me.

May the Force be with you
3 comments

  1. I’ve been reading your late posts as a whole. I’m a bit confused with your current arsenal. I counted 4 cameras (GR, X100, Leica Digilux and X-pro1), correct me if I’m wrong. All are relatively small form factor, and share similar qualities despite still being different animals. I’m sensing the joy of ownership with every single one, but you seem to hesitate on when to use them all.

    As a B&W camera GR is known to have a nice sensor with good tonal response. Leica with CCD sensor should also shine with B&W images. You’ve tried X100 with a teleconverter, but didn’t find it “just right”. Now it’s becoming a dedicated B&W camera without the converter. Hmm.. leaves me confused 🙂

    I’m personally struggling to find use for 2 digital bodies, and have willingly skipped taking cell phone images lately. I almost bought GR late last year, and I’m glad that I didn’t. With my usage, it would be for nothing. It takes time to learn the tools, and to get the experience to a level where you can forget the camera. To be honest, I’m sometimes confused with my current setup of 1 body and 3 lenses. I think I was the happiest, when I only had X100 in my bag. Nice user experience, decent quality and easy to carry with me. The the GAS hit again. If I had the possibility, I’d shoot only film with one lens and an antique mechanical body. Cost-wise and considering all the work involved, it’s not a possibility at this point (wish there was Costco with dirt-cheap film development/scanning options everywhere). With more gear I’m finding it harder to get to the “flow”, where the image matters and I don’t have to fiddle around making constant choices with gear.

    I’d like to see even deeper consideration from you about all the options and the real reasons to have these cameras. Every camera is a compromise, as there is no perfect camera that could suit every photographer in every situation. X100 and X-pro1 share similar qualities, so why own them both? X100 and GR are similar in some ways, and you’ve mentioned earlier how you prefer 35mm over 28mm. Why own them both? I like reading your posts, as your thoughts are in some ways similar to what I’m constantly going through. So please take my comments more of as an effort to clarify my own thoughts through your writing. I thought I’d write anyway, as I enjoy the discussions 🙂

    Like the new blog theme btw. Clean and simple.

  2. Jesse, thank you so much for commenting! I always love your thoughts because they make me think about my camera arsenal and photography in general. First of all, I would like to say that usually I am too busy for long blog posts (work duties and lively family plus yesterday ploughing the snow, I know only excuses…) and that’s why my ideas may sound very unconstructed ones. And I am quite confused by myself many times with my choices and ideas.

    In addition to those cameras you mentioned I have Ricoh GRD IV and Nikon 1 V1 (plus Olympus EP-1 and Canon 650 which are not in use). I think this even adds to the confusion. I am actually happy that I bought the GR back. It seems that I am slowly going to get accustomed to 28 mm. It just will take some time because in DSLR times I loved much longer focal lengths (like the 200 mm). I like to shoot RAWs with the GR to get most out of it. Then I have the GRD IV which I really like mainly because of its macro abilities (1 cm distance from the subject possible) and high-contrast B&Ws (so with this camera I will keep shooting JPEGs).

    The big question at the moment is the Fuji gear I have. If my wide-angle camera(s) is/are Ricoh(s) then I think the 50 mm focal length would complement the 28 mm in the best way. Not the 35 mm the X100 has. That’s why I purchased the tele converter for it – to get the 50 mm. But then I already have a great 50 mm equivalent lens with my X-Pro1 (and the size of this combo is almost the same as X100 plus the tele converter). What was I thinking when buying that tele converter? That’s a really good question. 🙂

    One thing is sure, and that has been bothering me for quite a time, I have to get rid of some of my cameras. I do not need cameras for all photographic situations. That “flow” thing is quite important also for me but at the moment I have tried to make it happen in a wrong way. I have tried to collect different cameras to fulfill my need but that has made the “flow” impossible. But how to go on from here? How to clear up my thoughts and find the “flow” again (there have been times I have felt the “flow”)?

    Thanks again for commenting, Jesse. I really appreciate.

  3. You seem to be concerned with different focal lengths, which is a valid point. I guess with time we all get comfortable with the focal lengths we use. I used only 50mm for 2 years, and started seeing in 50mm. Getting away from that hasn’t been the easiest thing, but on the other hand finding the flow is also not that easy now. It would take constant efforts and rigorous self-discipline to push myself to truly learn all the gear I have. It’s too easy to fall back and just switch to a different lens, when the situation “requires”. I had no problems using only 35/1.4 with X-E1 in similar situations. I’ve seen amazing portraits with 24mm, and great landscape shots at 200mm. It means huge compromises, but the results can be interesting.

    I think the question is, which camera do you enjoy the most. If image quality is not a critical factor, then user experience probably is. I’m loving Fuji with manual controls, and that’s the main reason I’ve been sticking to those after some mishaps. I hope that you find the “clarity” in choices, and like I said, I’m perhaps reflecting my own thoughts through your blog as much as commenting on your thoughts.

    For me the current battle is finding the right lenses to support X-T1. So yes, also the battle with focal lengths 🙂 I’m thinking 14mm, 35mm and 56mm, but then again I’ve rarely used the 35mm after getting 56mm. I still like the results from it though. Maybe It should be 14/23/56, or just go back to basics and try the one lens approach. 18-55 is a nice lens, but it’s too easy to just zoom and forget the true effort for great results. I’ve noticed, that when you make life too easy in photography, at least my images tend to turn mediocre due to lack of concentration and hastiness. How to find that constant will to push myself further, even though the gear allows me to do easy choices.. Hmm.

    Thanks Jonne, and have a nice weekend from kangaroo land 🙂

Leave a Reply

